Busboys and Poets

A Dream Deferred 

By Langston Hughes

What happens to a dream deferred?

Does it dry up
like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore–
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over–
like a syrupy sweet?

Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.

Or does it explode?

Langston Hughes contemplated this question as early as 1951 when he penned this poem.  It’s inspiring to know that we are not the only ones living the dreamed deferred.  

What is YOUR dream deferred?  Tell me in the comments below.

4 thoughts on “Busboys and Poets

  1. You know when people tell you that things happen for a reason? I’m a big believer in that. I think everything that has happened in my life has set me on a path to where I’m supposed to be. I took a detour in college because I didn’t think I should have to go to class but had a wake up call and came back as a straight A student. I married early and ended up divorced but then I found the love of my life after that and I learned not to sweat the small things couples disagree about. You have to learn to make the most of things or it will eat you up. Fight for your dreams!

    Like

  2. My dreams of photography and travel writing are a work in progress. My life has been a series of lemons/lemonade and I just keep my chin up and inch my way along, in spite of it all. I KNOW what I want to do and work hard at getting closer to realizing it all the time. You are never too old to dream and never too discouraged to wake up and have it be true. :o)

    Like

Leave a Reply

